Companies and Services

European corridors

Regulation (EU) No 913/2010 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 September 2010 concerning a European rail network for competitive freight established a series of European freight corridors to increase rail competitiveness compared to other means of transport.

These European freight corridors also make up the backbone of the Trans-European Transport Networks defined in the Regulation (EU) No 1315/2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 December 2013 on Union guidelines for the development of the Trans-European Transport Network, and 1316/2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 December 2013 establishing the "Connecting Europe" Facility.

Six of the nine rail freight corridors have been operational since 11 November 2013. Adif has a stake in two of them, which run through Spain: Corridors 4 and 6, which are part of the TEN-T Network's Atlantic and Mediterranean Corridors, respectively.

Both corridors now have an operational One Stop Shop. The one for Corridor No 4 is in Madrid, and the one for Corridor No 6 is in Milan (Italy). The aim is to deal with, process and coordinate the requests from the international freight paths that these corridors will manage.

Operational corridors that are part of the Adif network

Rail Freight Corridor No 4



  • Adif and the Infrastructure Managers of Portugal (REFER) and France (RFF) are included in this corridor, whose One Stop Shop is located in Madrid.
  • The corridor is more than 4,500 km long and runs along the axis of Sines-Lisboa/Leixões, Sines-Elvas/Algeciras, Madrid-Medina del Campo /Bilbao /San Sebastián-Irún, Burdeos-Le Havre /Metz.
  • Germany (via Mannheim) is also planning to join the corridor by the end of 2016, and this would connect Corridor No 4 and Corridor No 2 (Genoa-Rotterdam/Antwerp)

Rail Freight Corridor No 6

  • Adif, together with seven partners from five countries, is part of the Corridor (Administradores de infraestructuras de España –Adif–, France –RFF–, Italy –RFI–, Slovenia –ASZ–, Hungary –MAV– and TPFerro, and capacity allocators of Slovenia –SZ– and Hungary –VPE–). The corridor's One Stop Shop is located in Milan, Italy.
  • Corridor No 6 is more than 6,000 km long, along the route of Almería-Valencia/Madrid-Zaragoza/Barcelona-Marseille-Lyon-Turin-Milan-Verona-Padua/Venice-Trieste/Koper-Ljubljana-Budapest-Záhony.
  • This corridor, which is already connected to six other European Freight Corridors (1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7), will be extended to Croatia by the end of 2016.